The mission of STTBVI is to promote awareness and conservation of all species of marine turtles that inhabit the British Virgin Islands (BVI). There are three species of sea turtles regularly found in the waters of the BVI. These include the hawksbill (Eretmochelys imbricata), green (Chelonia mydas) and leatherback (Dermochelys coriacea).  The leatherback and hawksbill turtles are both considered to be critically endangered. The green turtle is classified as endangered.

It is not commonly known that it is legal in the BVI to hunt and collect sea turtles; therefore one of the primary objectives of STTBVI is to spread the word about, and end The Sea Turtle Hunting Season.  The open season for turtles is from December 1st through March 31st and includes hawksbill turtles (15+inches carapace length) and green turtles (24 +inches carapace length). There is a moratorium on removing loggerhead turtles, leatherback turtles and  all sea turtle eggs.